The Artsy Engineer’s internet debut

February 17, 2013 § 15 Comments

With The Artsy Engineer’s permission, I have decided to post the video we took of my first ever at-home injection. It’s quite possible that we’re the only ones who find this video funny. I think we find it so amusing because it is sooo far from his typical presentation, and you all don’t have anything with which to compare it. But, I don’t know. I’m sure he isn’t the first husband to lose it a little during their first time playing nurse. Maybe you all will relate!

Disclaimer: I think I sound a little bossy in it, but The Artsy Engineer assures me that I wasn’t. That he needed me to be “direct” with him, because he was terrified and not thinking clearly. I think he is maybe just being nice.

So, without further ado, I bring you The (very anxious.. glad it’s not me for once) Artsy Engineer.

Tagged: ,

§ 15 Responses to The Artsy Engineer’s internet debut

  • That was pretty much hilarious. You guys are awesome.

    Also? My husband has yet to work up the courage to do any of my shots, even the easy ones. So tell your Engineer he’s a brave guy.

  • Gypsy Mama says:

    awwww you guys are so cute!!! He was pretty nervous hehe

    And p.s. you didn’t sound bossy at all!

    • πŸ™‚ thanks. And I’m glad you don’t think I sound bossy! I’m just surprised at how completely and utterly explicit my instructions are. I’m all like, before you take off the cap, blink, move your hand slightly to the left, breath twice, and pull upward. Ha.

  • Kimberly says:

    Thank you so much for posting that! Probably only an IF could find that funny, but I found it hilarious!!

  • YeahScience! says:

    Awww… what a cutie! I personally think it’s really sweet when partners get all anxious and upset at giving shots — it’s mainly because they don’t want to hurt us, of course. Anyway, after a few more of those, he will become a pro in no time. And if you guys ever decide to get into heavy narcotics, you’ll already have the skill sets! (Sorry, worst joke ever)

  • Kristin says:

    Brave man! My husband didn’t do my shots, either. But that might be because I am too controlling….

  • bustedoven says:

    Oh my gosh, you guys are ridiculously adorable.

  • That was really very sweet! He did a great job, tell him the internet approves. For my first shot I had to drive to my mother-in-law’s house (she’s a nurse) and Eric told me I would have to do that every day for a month… not cool. After two days he worked up the guts to do it himself and by the end he could probably have done it blindfolded. It’s amazing what you get used to.

  • Infertility Can Suck It says:

    Oh my goodness, this cracked me up πŸ™‚ It brought back SO many memories of the dreaded HCG trigger shot. I think my husband would work up the courage all day long for just those few seconds. It’s so funny, since for his job he flies fighter jets – in the war – but that little needle was the worst thing he could imagine πŸ™‚ Tell your hubby he did great and I loved all the positive energy between you two. An adorable couple!!

  • Here from ICLW.

    Hilarious. I love the fact that you had to reassure him when you were the one that got the injection! So far I have had to do my own injections b/c my engineer travels a lot- but hopefully he’s around to give me my trigger before the retrieval!

  • Amber says:

    Absolutely hilarious and oh so sweet at the same time. I don’t think you even came close to being bossy either! I was waiting for the bossiness, but it just never came πŸ™‚ I always did the stomach injections myself, like Kristin who commented above, I am just too controlling. However, Hubby did the PIO injecions. I think we were pretty funny the first few nights for that as well. The things we go through…

  • very cute… thanks for sharing the video. My DH was the same way when we started the intramuscular shots. They’re so cute when they’re worried like that. I tend to get really bad nerve pain from the PIO shots so DH still worries a bit but after 3 IVFs and an FET he’s a pro and we have a whole “shot time” routine. BTW – Here from ICLW!

  • Awww! πŸ™‚ Anxiety is natural. Giving a shot is like jumping out of a plane with a parachute: your brain knows it’s OK, but your body just does not want to cooperate with something that feels so wrong! My first shot took 45 minutes of wiping my palms and re-reading the instructions. It definitely gets easier with practice. (Here’s hoping you won’t need much practice to get a good result!)

Help a sister out?

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Artsy Engineer’s internet debut at lamenting the lentil.

meta

