This bit is totally (well, mostly) unrelated to vajeens

March 6, 2013 § 15 Comments

Things are ticking along swimmingly here.

I’m on my second letrozole cycle, and it’s my last day of pill popping. Other than my ovaries being a achy (which is weird and didn’t happen last cycle), nothing all that exciting is going on with my vagina and its related parts. We decided to hold off on the mid-cycle ultrasound and trigger shot this go around. I don’t think I actually needed it last cycle. My body responded well to the drug. I had pretty follicles and thick lining, and I’m pretty sure I actually ovulated the night of the trigger (and would have done so whether The Artsy Engineer had poked me, live on the interwebs, or not).

I haven’t really been thinking much about cycling and babies over the last few days. I tend to get a nice bit of calm during the first week of my cycle during which my obsessive thoughts subside and I can just be Lentil.

Today is one of those days. Today I’m finding myself getting excited for totally frivolous reasons.

Now, I’ve never been the most fashionable individual. I like to look nice, but I’m not good at putting effort into it. I want to look nice without trying. In fact, if that was a style, I’d claim it.

A friend of mine introduced me to this the other day. It’s an online personal styling company. Which, in my opinion, is genius. The idea is this. You fill out a profile about yourself that includes everything from your size to your style to your desire for work versus play clothes to your cleavage (and rear end*) flaunting preferences. You then pay $20, and they will send you a box of clothes based on your profile. If you keep any of the items in the box, that $20 actually goes toward the cost of whatever you decide to keep. The clothes are from small and up-and-coming brands, which this Midwestern girl does not typically have access to. I’d rather give my money to these types of companies than to Ta.rget.

I’m not particularly into fashion, but I think this is nice for two reasons:

1) I’m lazy. I hate shopping. I don’t have the patience for it. And I never look as good in those dressing room mirrors as I think I do in real life, and

2) I work in healthcare and need to look nice. Everyday. That’s a lot to ask! And I have no idea how to do this. I’m afraid I either look unprofessional (I’ve never been anything but a student and very much have ‘grad student style’) or 15 years older than I am.

So, I could use help with this whole dressing myself thing. And I’ll gladly pay someone with good style $20 to pick out clothes for me. I spent $20 on decaf coffee over the last week while working on my dissertation at the coffee shop. It’s worth it. (Decaf coffee, on the other hand, is nothing but filler. Not at all worth it.) And who doesn’t love getting a box of surprise stuff in the mail that someone else has picked out for you? It’s like having an anonymous pen pal. And you get to be lazy about responding.

Anyway, I hope this can provide as nice of a little distraction for someone else as it has for me. Because filling out my style profile took me something like 45 minutes. And that’s 45 fewer minutes that I spent thinking about my empty uterus. 

 

________________________________________

*Don’t ask me what kinds of clothes might exist that are designed to flaunt your rear end. I have no idea.

Tagged: , ,

§ 15 Responses to This bit is totally (well, mostly) unrelated to vajeens

  • Oh my freaking god, I love this idea. I have no idea what clothes to buy. I’m going to try it!

    • I know! Isn’t it cool? I’m so picky about clothes, but I don’t have any drive to put effort into finding good ones. There is a wait list, unfortunately. But I was only on it for about 10 days. Now I’m just waiting for my first fix 😉

  • JustMe says:

    Enjoy your calm! My husband’s company used to do some design work for StyleMint, which I believe is a similar idea. I think they also have BeautyMint for makeup. I was always apprehensive…what if I don’t like what they send? So curious. Will you post pics of what you get?

  • Ladyblogalot says:

    Please, please tick the ‘flaunting the rear end’ box. Just to see what you get. i really wanna see what you get for that.

  • Sadie says:

    After my Day One meltdown, usually suffered through with lots of cursing by my poor husband, I tend to have that same period of calm. Enjoy it and the frivolities!

  • Amber says:

    This sounds very interesting. I’m going to have to look into it. Seriously!

  • Gypsy Mama says:

    I also go through periods of peace, but I have to admit I am still pretty stressed out a lot of the time lately…

    That clothing thing is pretty cool!! I’m sure we don’t have anything like that in Canada yet… I buy all my clothes from a high end second hand shop, and I kind of enjoy looking through everything and finding the good stuff. Sometimes I shop online too… I haven’t been buying as much lately though, because if I get pregnant I won’t be able to wear it! I hope you post pics!

  • bustedoven says:

    Girl, I am right there with you. I was just contemplating writing a post about just this sort of peacefulness and how I wish I could hang on to it all cycle long. It’s so nice while it’s here!

  • Oh my goodness this is so interesting! Please post what you get! I’m going to go check it out….

  • Jenny says:

    Very cool! I’ll have to store this information away for later.

    I hope you’ll be doing a show & tell post after you get your first box of clothes. 🙂

  • I’m going to second what everyone else says and request pictures of what you get. I’m intrigued!

  • bustedoven says:

    Oh and P.S. my ovaries have been achey this time, too. My acupuncturist always tells me that achey ovaries is a good sign, it means there’s action happening in there. Go, ovaries, go!

  • Stasy says:

    Okay, you may have just pointed out a new addiction for me. I hate shopping for clothes and trying to match things together.

  • I have little style and no time to work on it so this service sounds great! Glad you have been able to distract yourself….hope you can keep it up!

  • Flicka Mawa says:

    So how did it turn out? I’ve heard of similar services but didn’t know you could do it for $20! How fabulous!!!!

Help a sister out?

What’s this?

You are currently reading This bit is totally (well, mostly) unrelated to vajeens at lamenting the lentil.

meta

